Course Corrections

It would be really helpful if we could automate certain features in our psyche.

I was in Home Depot yesterday and while the guy was tying stuff to my car for me, his walkie talkie persistently told him that someone needed help in door locks. After 4 announcements in less than 3 minutes, I asked him what the deal was. He said “it’s automated so that the message continues to sound until someone physically goes to the area and deactivates the announcement manually.”

That got me thinking. It would be helpful (though annoying) if I could set up features that would keep me on track. Like reminders to not skip exercise, even if I seem too busy or it’s too hot. Or helpful warnings that sounded if I eat things that are not healthy. There’s a lot of areas I could use some help in. Systems to keep me on course.

I wonder how many times an airplane’s automatic pilot system adjusts the course of a cross-country flight. I’m betting it does checks and cross-checks every minute.

It is all too human to get way off course. Even with clearly set goals, I have often found myself pretty far from where I intended to be. Annual check-ups on the neck up are simply not enough. I am working on a plan that is do-able to incorporate more frequent course corrections. If you have input as to what works for you, I’m all ears.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

