Everyday Greatness

Stephen Covey has done it again. I really enjoyed his book, Seven Habits of Highly Effective People. I just finished reading his book,  Everyday Greatness. I typically read more than one book at a time, so this type of book, that allows me to put it down and pick it back up without having to struggle to find the train of thought is ideal to me.

It is a collection of stories and quotes with the commentary provided by Dr. Covey. He begins, “In a world where turmoil dominates the evening news and words of discouragement often prevail, I feel blessed …to associate with leaders, heads of business, and first time supervisors whose lives are filled with integrity and moral fortutude.”

I believe the tone of this book is best summarized by Helen Keller who said,

“I long to accomplish a great and noble task, but it is my chief duty to accomplish small tasks as if they were great and noble.”

You might not even recognize the one small thing you have done today that made a big difference to someone else.  I’ve always loved the concept of random acts of kindness. If you haven’t already done one of those today, look for an opportunity. It’s the stuff of everyday greatness.

Explore posts in the same categories: Attitude, Books

One Comment on “Everyday Greatness”


  1. Beverly, thank you for stopping by my blog, http://www.sandithompsonnutrition.blogspot.com to comment. And, thanks to Heidi for referring me. Glad to know we have so many interests in common. I love Steven Covey’s work, and also that of Steven K. Scott. He wrote Mentored By A Millionaire and The Richest Man Who Ever Lived.


Leave a Reply

