PUSH Back

Accept the things you cannot change and change the things you cannot accept.

This is a bit of a different take on what I’ve always known as “The Serenity Prayer.”
It goes like this:
God grant me the serenity to accept the things I can not change, courage to change the things I can and the wisdom to know the difference.”

The first version has an attitude. It speaks of “pushing back”. For instance, I refuse to give in to the fear and negativism that swirl around us. I can’t change the economic crisis we are in as a nation, but I can change my little corner of the world.

Caleb had the kind of attitude and action plan I want to emulate.

Caleb was a man who answered to a higher authority than military science and tactics. It did not make good sense to take Hebron. Joshua had figured the odds, said it wasn’t worth it, and bypassed the walled cities. There was no sense fighting the giants of Anak. But Caleb was not content with that. He was marching to the sound of a different drummer. He had been confident 45 years before. (Read the book of Numbers, Chapter 6 and follow his story) And he was still confident 45 years later. He was an uncommon man and uncommon things transpired when he fixed his mind on obtaining God’s best for his life. He pushed back and it paid off.

It comes to me that an acronym I’ve heard for PUSH is Pray Until Something Happens.
I’m certain Caleb did his share of that too!

Explore posts in the same categories: Attitude, Leadership

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “PUSH Back”

  1. Lynda Says:

    Just wanted to say that I loved this post. It falls right in line with some things I’ve been considering and thinking about over the past week.


Leave a Reply

