Whatever It Takes

It’s two weeks into the New Year and I am finally posting my first message of 2009.

I’ll confess that I began the New Year with a touch of cynicism. The reality is that 2008 was a tough year in the business realm and I wasn’t a bit sad to see it go. The big question on my mind was, “What am I going to do to insure that 2009 is better, with the world going to hell in a handbasket??” I didn’t roll out of bed on January 1st with the answer, so I took some steps to encourage myself.

One thing I did was tune into a tele-seminar with Joy Chudacoff of Smart Women, Smart Solutions that was very worthwhile. I was reminded of some simple action steps that would be helpful in gearing up for change.

The second thing I did was order Michael Pink’s new book, The Rain Forest Strategy. I am currently reading it and you will be hearing more about it, as it is brilliant.

One of my strategies for this year is to surround myself with expectancy and hope. In times past, this has not been so difficult to do. With the current economic climate, the doom and gloom folks are everywhere. I am setting my face to the wind and am determined to be one who is fighting fear with faith. This means declaring my vision of possibility without wavering.

This brings to mind one of my favorite poems that bears repeating:

Whatever It Takes

I am committed to doing whatever it takes.
The die has been cast, I’ve stepped over the line,
I’m out of the comfort zone.
The decision has been made.
I won’t look back, let up, slow down or back away.
I am finished and done with low living, sight-walking,
small planning, smooth knees,
colorless dreams, tame vision,
mundane talking, chintzy giving and dwarf goals.

I cannot be bought, compromised, detoured, lured away,
turned back, deluded or delayed.
I will not flinch in the face of sacrifice,
hesitate in the presence of adversity,
negotiate at the table of the enemy,
ponder at the pool of popularity,
or meander in the maze of mediocrity.
I’ve committed to doing whatever it takes!!

My slogan for this year is this:
Anything is possible for those who believe.
I’m going to give new meaning to the expression, “The Audacity of Hope”.

Explore posts in the same categories: Attitude, Goals

Leave a Reply

