Can’t Throw a Wrench at This

I just finished reading Michael Pink’s new book, The Rain Forest Strategy. In all honesty, I don’t finish reading a number of business books I start because some of them are incredibly boring. This one was different. So different that I am going to begin reading it again; this time with a highlighter in hand. That’s also notable, as the books I want to mark up and live in are few and far between.

Pink’s use of the Rain Forest as the model for business is fascinating. One revelation I had while reading is that so often, we try to treat business (or our national economy) as if it’s a machine, when in reality, these entities are ecosystems. There are intertwining and complex relationships; one change is likely to have compound effects that reverberate through the system. If a machine is broken, it can often be restored by working on one part. Ecosystems don’t respond to quick fixes. This book should be required reading for our government leaders.

I used to think of business as a finely tuned engine, but this Rain Forest model is more accurate. I am in the process of applying what I’ve learned and will have fresh and personal illustrations of the lessons as I go. In the meantime, you can download a free copy of the book by clicking here.

Feel the heat, seek the light and grow like crazy. Someone’s going to do it and it might as well be you and me.

Explore posts in the same categories: Books, Leadership

One Comment on “Can’t Throw a Wrench at This”

  1. e-Mom Says:

    Thanks for this great info! I’ve sent it on to my husband. And thanks for visiting Chrysalis’ Bloggy Giveaway last week.

    Blessings,

    e-Mom @ Chrysalis


Leave a Reply

