Reducing Stress in Tough Times

epiphaniesIs it because women are natural nurturers that we tend to take better care of others than we do of ourselves? Maybe men overlook themselves as well; I’d be interested in your observations.

Today’s Epiphany, or “Aha!” reflection is that if you don’t take care of yourself,  you won’t be able to be who you want to be or do what you want to do. In the turbulent times we’re living in, it seems that efforts to stay positive have to move up a notch. I want to be the one leading the way in a life well-lived. So I need to be kind to that lady in the mirror.

Here’s a short list of what works for me:

Talk nice. To Yourself. My self-talk can become toxic to productivity unless I consciously rein it in. Since it’s the dialogue in my head and no one else hears it, it’s a matter of self-discipline to speak faith-filled words instead of degrading my own efforts.

Health is Wealth. As much as I say I don’t like to exercise, I feel so much better when I do it. Eating well gives me more energy too. And both of these contribute to being at my “happy weight”.

Live with Passion. Many things will catch your eye, but only a few things will catch your heart. Pursue those. ~ Mac Anderson.

Do the Least Enjoyable Thing on Today’s List. NOW. Procrastination is opportunity’s natural assassin.

Fast the News. As much as I desire to be informed, the plethora of bad news weighs me down. I’m reading and watching less news for now.

Laugh. Laughter is an instant vacation.

You take care of you for me and I’ll take care of me for you. Deal?

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

