FLOAT Approach to Stress Management

I coordinated my errands on Saturday around a visit to the beach. A short time with my toes in the sand and my face turned into the salty breeze is enough to make the cares of the world evaporate from my mind.

As I sat and watched families on the beach, I thought about the fine art of floating. I believe it’s an essential part of learning to swim, as it requires learning to relax in the water. It’s also a safety maneuver; if you get exhausted in the water and think you may go under, the answer is to turn onto your back and float.

The hard part is relaxing when your adrenaline is pumping and your body is screaming to MOVE IT! When floating, if you tense your muscles, you sink.

I remember teaching each of our children to float. Of course I’d start by literally holding them up; my hands under them, supporting their back. As they learned to relax, it wasn’t long before I wasn’t even touching them. I would still let them get really comfortable and practice a lot before physically moving away. This makes me think of that old hymn, “Leaning on the Everlasting Arms.” Good to know we have a Father whose arms are always underneath us.

So this Monday’s stress management tip is FLOAT. It’s the best way to stay on top in these turbulent waters. The beach sang to me on Saturday.  If you need an extra dose of stress-relief today, you can listen to the song too; it’s  Don’t Worry Be Happy. float1

Explore posts in the same categories: Attitude

Leave a Reply

