The Rainforest Excursion

talltreeThere’s nothing like being seen at your worst with a group of business compadres to cement friendships. I’m not referring to a display of unbecoming behavior. I’m talking about being physically challenged to the point where you look like you’ve been used up, run over and then drowned. An unforgettable experience that I eagerly signed up for and would do so again in a heartbeat.

The most amazing day of my trip to the Republic of Panama began early in the morning with a hike into the Rainforest. I was spellbound by the vivid lessons on parasites, pathogens, the life cycle, fungigation, competition and principles that are clearly applied to business and life. Prolific author, Michael Pink, shared awesome revelations that he continues to see and write about. (Click Here for a free copy of The Rainforest Strategy.) You’ll be hearing more about this as I have affiliated with the Rainforest Business Institute as a success coach.

Being a Floridian, I was acclimated to the heat and humidity but still drank several bottles of water during the excursion. We’d been advised to wear clothes that dry quickly and I had erroneously assumed that was because of expected rain. I was soaked long before the downpour. All the same, it was an exhilarating adventure.

canoeNext, we headed to the Darien rainforest in the country’s interior (Panama is about the size of S. Carolina but is only 115 miles across at its widest point.) We were met by a small group of indigenous Embera Indians and  clambered into their dugout canoes for a trip up the Chagres river.

We hiked along a creek bed, sometimes needing to be in the creek itself, because the rainforest is literally an impenetrable barrier right down to the rivers and creeks. You’d have to have a machete to venture even 3 feet into the bush and that is prohibited since the Rainforests are now protected in Panama.  The reward at the end of that trail was a beautiful cold pool with a waterfall. I didn’t have to think twice about jumping right in. I’ll confess that most of us acted like a bunch of kids in that beautiful spot. Talk about the break that refreshes!waterfall I’m going to continue my journal of the trip in the next post with details of our fascinating time in the village of the Emberan indians.

The experience of  participating in the Rainforest Business Institute Excursion brought the lessons of the Rainforest Strategy into high definition for me, which enables me to share with you the practical and vivid growth priniciples that became of part of who I am while immersed in that environment.

I’m now booking presentations on The Rainforest Strategy for businesses and organizations, so email me and let’s talk about how these principles can be applied directly into your business to fuel growth and success.

Explore posts in the same categories: Coaching, Leadership, Rainforest Business Institute

Leave a Reply

