Legendary Lives

My 103-year-old grandmother departed this earth a couple of short weeks ago, on my birthday as it so happened. Without a doubt, she was one of the most influential people in my life. I will miss this tiny 4’ll” woman of incredible strength and vitality who taught me poetry, a love of family and an appreciation of beauty in the world surrounding me.

She penned in the front of her well-worn Bible the words, “He sets my life to song, and gives my heart dancing shoes.” I inherited her shoes.

Jim Rohn’s death on Dec. 6th  represents the passing of another legendary figure in my life. I cut my wisdom teeth on his words and message. Though I never had the opportunity to meet him, he was a mentor to me. “Success is not to be pursued; it is to be attracted by the person we become” – just one of many of my favorite quotes from Mr. Rohn.

Though many heroes fall and people often disappoint us, legendary lives are those that inspire us and bring out the best in us.

…to know that even one life has breathed easier because you have lived. This is to have succeeded.  (Emerson)
 

Explore posts in the same categories: Leadership

Leave a Reply

