Health is Wealth

The state of the economy can’t touch our most valuable assets.

I’ve been considered a bit of a health nut for all of my adult life. Like so many of my habits, I tend to experience ebbs and flows along the way. For instance, when the children were really small and I could control their diets, we did really well. Then sometimes, I would get exhausted with the effort to buy natural and prepare whole foods and would concede to convenience. 

Now that I’m a bit older, I’m especially thankful for my high energy and notice that good health is not to be taken for granted. At any age, it’s a gift and merits the protection one would afford a valuable asset.  

It’s been really terrific to watch the movement towards health food sections within the grocery store. It delights me that eating natural foods has become so much more convenient.

On a practical note,  I thought I’d share a few changes we’ve made in the past year that I’m very happy about:

1) Organic milk. I buy 2 kinds of milk to suit all preferences and I found that I was throwing slightly soured milk away a little too often. It’s really gross! Organic milk has expiration dates that are about a month away (can’t say I understand why) and the fact that I use every drop compensates for the higher price. I have a theory about hormones in our foods influencing our health which I won’t get into right now, but I really like buying organic.

2) Organic beef. At my grocery store, Publix, they have a line called “Green Wise” that is delicious & affordable.

3) Cage-free eggs. Believe it or not, our land in the countryside has provided the opportunity for our own fresh eggs.  They are remarkably better than commerical eggs. Here are some stats that we are promoting as we are actually selling eggs. (!!?!)

Mother Earth News conducted an egg testing project and found that, compared to official U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) nutrient data for commercial eggs, eggs from hens raised on pasture may contain:

• 1⁄3 less cholesterol
• 1⁄4 less saturated fat
• 2⁄3 more vitamin A
• 2 times more omega-3 fatty acids
• 3 times more vitamin E
• 7 times more beta carotene
• 4 to 6 times more vitamin D

4) Kosher salt. I know if you’re on a low sodium diet, this is not a good choice, but we are enjoying it! It’s said you use less salt when seasoning with this form. I’m not sure about that as I really love salt. Thankfully, I have low blood pressure rather than high and it’s not an issue at our house.

Lest you think that eating healthy is not fun, I love the stastics that support eating chocolate!  A 2006 John Hopkin’s study showed that chocolate can be beneficial to your health. It’s rich in flavonoids and packed with antioxidants. In addition, it increases serotonin levels and may help lower blood pressure. 

I don’t take the gift of health for granted. I believe in natural remedies as a first step when symptoms creep in. I think we should have wellness cabinets rather than medicine cabinets. A recent ad for a local “Health Fair” boasted 12 workshops and every single topic was a disease. Something is wrong with that picture!!!

All that man needs for health and healing has been provided by God in nature, the challenge of science is to find it.” ~Philippus Theophrastrus Bombast That (1493-1541)

Never, no never does Nature say one thing and wisdom another. ~Johann Frederick von Schuller

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Coaching, Health

One Comment on “Health is Wealth”

  1. Shannon Oruska Says:

    Hey Beverly,

    I love this article. And the bit at the end about the Health Fair being a “disease fair” was spot on with the way I feel about our “healthcare” system. It’s really a disease care system, which is one of the main reasons it’s so expensive (imho of course).

    Anyway, thanks!

    Shannon


Leave a Reply

