Too Big to Care

Great customer service is one of the pillars of a successful business so I’m a bit perplexed by the fact that since most social media channels have free access,  the owners seem unconcerned about customer service.

Case in point is the Twitter following limit.  If you haven’t found the 2000 follower ceiling it means one of two things: you’re either big on twitter and that number is far behind or you’re still building your presence and haven’t hit that number yet.

I’ve been  bumping my head against the ceiling for months and have wasted entirely too much time trying to figure it out so here’s the scoop: Twitter has a following  limit based on the number of followers you have. It works on a percentage level of 10% when you hit 2000. That’s why it’s polite to follow back people who follow you and to unfollow those who don’t reciprocate.  Of course, there are celebrities who don’t bother to follow people back but if you’re interested in what they are tweeting, you deal with it.

Is this fair to legitimate tweeters who are offering value to Twitter? No. But they don’t care because it works for them.

Another case is the new Facebook page layout. It made me seasick for the first 2 days I looked at it.  It’s entirely too busy and doesn’t make it easy to see what people do and are interested in.  Does Facebook care if we like it? No.

Hotmail is another example. I know I should be using Outlook as the central station for all my email boxes but years ago I got set up on hotmail and stuck with it. This past week, hotmail  has prevented me from sending emails to groups of 5 people with an attachment because they said I was spamming. PuLeeaze. Does hotmail care what I think? Decidedly not.

How does one complain about poor customer relations on a site that’s free? By blogging about it.  My rant is over.

It  costs something to disregard what customers want and need and I believe it’s an expensive choice. When you get too big to care about the customer’s experience, you’re too big.

Explore posts in the same categories: Attitude, Business Strategies

Leave a Reply

