Challenge: The Catalyst of Success

I’ve always figured a challenge is an optimist’s name for a problem.  There’s more than positive thinking in that approach, it’s actually recognition of an important truth. “Challenge” literally means false accusation. The word can be traced back through the Middle English calenge and Old French chalenge, then back to the Latin calumniari. (I know- I’m a bonafide word geek.) They all mean “accuse falsely.” The reality is, every challenge to the advancement of your destiny is not the truth!

Napoleon Hill, author of  Think and Grow Rich, wrote “Every adversity, every failure, every heartache carries with it the seed of an equal or greater benefit.” I seized on that as truth when I was in the trenches building my first business more than 30 years ago.  Thankfully, it has been as a self-fulfilling prophecy as I’ve behaved as if it’s a fact.

Challenges build mental toughness which is often the necessary margin for victory.  Bear in mind that everything of great value has a counterfeit. I choose to recognize the falsehoods that carry discouragement and use the truth as a weapon to build the muscle of the soul.

“Life can be a rocky road. The challenge is to not let it grind you into dust, but to polish you into a bright gem.” ~Milton Fogg

I may lack the physical toughness to be a Marine, but I love their motto, “Semper Fi”.  Always faithful.
Let it be.



Explore posts in the same categories: Attitude, Business Strategies, Leadership

Leave a Reply

