Partly Cloudy is a WEAK Forecast

Just days after experiencing the power of the well-articulated, clear vision I wrote about yesterday, I had an experience that brought me up short and made me want to pull my hair, pinch my nose and stomp my feet.

I sit on a committee of a local organization that disburses scholarships to deserving applicants that don’t qualify for traditional scholarships. Being in a position to give a boost up to people who really need a break is extremely gratifying and I’m honored to be a part of it.

However, sorting through the applicants and participating in the interviews is an eye-opener. It doesn’t cease to amaze me that some applicants don’t even bother to fill out the application completely. Their sloppy, careless plea for money won’t even land them an interview. Pitiful.

More than a few that get an interview are ill-prepared. This week I felt like I was an investor in an educational version of “Shark Tank.” Those venture capitalists are looking for some of the things I was listening for; evidence of a clear plan, strong work ethic, pertinent research revealed in working knowledge and having some “skin in the game.” You’d better be invested in your own future if you want me to buy into your vision (or any one else for that matter!).

If we want someone to get behind what we’re doing, these are pretty basic expectations! Sadly, I listened to more than a few people who didn’t have a clue. No vision, no plan, no research and they didn’t have even a part-time job. A hand-out is a whole different animal than a boost up. Boosts are for people who want to climb. As a climber, you’ve got to carry your own weight.

So it goes for those of us who are building anything. People will only buy into your product or service to the extent that you are very clear and obviously invested in it yourself. Partly cloudy just won’t do at all.

So I’m singing along with Johnny Nash….

I can see clearly now, the rain is gone,
I can see all obstacles in my way
Gone are the dark clouds that had me blind
It’s gonna be a bright, bright Sun-Shiny day

Explore posts in the same categories: Attitude, Goals

Leave a Reply

