Words with Friends

Yesterday I wrote about one of my first dances with digital fun the year our children got a Nintendo 64. (You should be impressed I can remember details from that long ago.)

This year’s digital distraction snuck in over the holidays. Online Scrabble – Words with Friends.  Aye yi  yi, I love scrabble and this is pretty addictive. (Don’t say I didn’t warn you and I beg you – do NOT send me an invitation to play.)

My justification in continuing to play is that leaders are readers and that vocabulary-building is a valuable exercise. Are you buying it?

I’ve also been reminded of my competitive streak. I’ve been known to say I’m not competitive but I’m not sure that’s true. I really like to win. (Don’t we all? I mean who LIKES to lose?!)   I have one competitor (my son-in-law) that has beaten me soundly in every game.  But there’s something predictable that happens when you don’t give up – I’m learning from his strategies and he’s pushing me to become a better player.

Hanging around people that are more skilled than you are is a good thing.  If you choose to hang around people who aren’t at the level you want to be, it could possibly make you look a little better. (But to whom, I might ask!)  Rubbing shoulders with people who challenge you and call you up to a higher level has a pain of its own,  but the result is growth. I’d rather struggle, lose and get up to try again than settle for the status quo.

You’re move.

Explore posts in the same categories: Business Strategies

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Words with Friends”

  1. Jessica Says:

    I heartily agree, Beverly! Losing’s not a lot of fun, but winning easily… that’s even less, if you ask me. Playing against someone who’s excellent, even if it means losing, is a much more rewarding game.

    I’ve been avoiding Words with Friends because I’ve heard how addictive it is–but it does sound like fun!


Leave a Reply

