Big People Build People

Ever heard that voice that whispers, “you’re a fraud”?

I think we all have at one time or another. When you’re insecure and don’t want anyone to know, that sly voice whispers words that belittle and make us want to be invisible.

Then there’s the voice that lifts you up. Perhaps even higher than you feel you deserve. The voice that calls out the best in you and says “You is kind, you is smart, you is important.” (That was my favorite line in the movie, The Help. You have to love Abileen.)

I’ve noticed something about people that are the real deal. That are successful in every sense of the word. They build people up.

I remember the first time I was invited to “run with the big dogs”. I was about 23 years old and attending a sales convention as a top performer. I got invited to a penthouse suite party being thrown by one of the legends in the company. And to my astonishment, he and his wife spent time making me not only feel welcome, but important.  I wanted to ask HIM questions. After all, I’d learned from Jim Rohn, “take a rich man to dinner and then let him do the talking”. But I found this millionaire wanted to know about me.

Humbling. And I learned an unforgettable lesson.

Big people build people.

Explore posts in the same categories: Leadership

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Big People Build People”

  1. Todd Lohenry Says:

    Reblogged this on Todd's Perspective and commented:
    Good stuff!


Leave a Reply

